Awards & Honors

Honorees for 2004

The Sheriff's office established a system for the recognition of individual acts of heroism, meritorious service and continued excellence in the performance of duty. The system consists of:


Detention Deputy of the Year:

Winner - Detention Deputy Gregory Fraley

Runner Up - David Andress

Runner Up - Daniel Jones

Civilian of the Year:

Winner - Anndee Kendrick, Crime Scene Technician

Medal of Valor: This medal is the second highest award presented by the Sheriff's Office. It shall be awarded under extraordinary circumstances. A member who displays bravery or heroism above and beyond the call of duty. This conduct shall occur in life-saving, life-protecting situations for the members placed at risk. The act must demonstrate professional judgment which does not jeopardize the mission. The Medal of Valor recognizes heroic conduct, but to a lesser degree than the Medal of Honor.

Sergeant Shawn Sloan Deputy Sheriff Lee Gillbert
Detective Gregory Tomlin

Meritorious Service Medal: The Meritorious Service Medal is awarded for individual service to the Sheriff's Office. It shall be awarded to members who demonstrate exceptional performance of duty.  Recipients will have distinguished themselves by performing exceptional service in a duty of great responsibility of critical importance to the Sheriff's Office. This is measured by contributing materially to the success of field or administrative operational goals.

Guidelines for nominations are: Substantial cost saving, increased efficiency, increased effectiveness, enhanced public image, improved safety of members, or technical innovation. Long and faithful service shall not be considered for the Meritorious Service Medal.

Officer Horner Murder Investigation
Chief W. J. Martin Major Joe Halman
Lieutenant Brian Rall Lieutenant J. Britt Williams
Sergeant Deborah Hamilton Sergeant Julio Lima
Sergeant Michael Reckart Sergeant Raymond Swilley
Detective Louis Giampavolo Laurie Ward, Crime Scene Administrator
Nancy Shipman, Crime Scene Technician Lynda Raczynski, Crime Scene Technician
Susan Deese, Crime Scene Technician  
Major Francis Hart Captain Dennis Russell
Sergeant Charlie Fountain Detention Deputy Gregory Fraley
Captain Kurt Lockwood - Computerization of Bootcamp Sergeant Timothy Glover - Life Saving
Sergeant Shawn Stephenson - Professional Skills Sergeant Dennis Warren - Life Saving

Purple Heart Medal: This medal is awarded to members seriously injured in the line-of-duty. A member who receives serious injuries incurred during the course of criminal apprehension or lifesaving efforts. Serious injury is defined as that which results in great bodily harm, or is life-threatening, or causes permanent disfigurement or disability; including those which result in paralysis. (Accidental injuries shall not be considered.)

Deputy Sheriff Charles Cook

Marshall Anderson Award: Sheriff’s Office members who distinguish themselves by overcoming extreme adversity in their daily lives shall be awarded the Marshall Anderson Award. The Marshall Anderson Award shall be signed by the Sheriff. It shall be prepared on designated stationery and shall reflect a come adversity. A member who distinguishes themselves by their undaunted determination to overcome personal adversities and strive for proficiency and excellence in their daily lives and in the performance of their job duties.

Wilfred Henseler, Detention Support Specialist

Belinda Mitchell, Sheriff's Service Officer

Samuel Hucks, Detention Support specialist


Former Purple Heart Recipients
Members of the Sheriff's Office who have received the Purple Heart.