Awards & Honors

Honorees for 2005

The Sheriff's office established a system for the recognition of individual acts of heroism, meritorious service and continued excellence in the performance of duty. The system consists of:


Deputy Sheriff of the Year:

Winner - Deputy Sheriff Robert Gray

Runner up - Deputy Sheriff Jon Burcham

Runner up - Deputy Sheriff Suzan Weiss



Detention Deputy of the Year:

Winner - Detention Deputy Joy Booher

Runner Up - Sergeant. Kimberley Marcum

Runner Up - Sergeant. James Nabors

Civilian of the Year:

Winner - Sheree Young, Sheriff Service Officer, Special Victims Section

Runner up - Donna Seiler, Supervisor, Animal Control Section

Runner up - Dr. D. Lee Spell, Lead Detention Counselor, Sheriff's Training and Respect (S.T.A.R.) Program


Reserve deputy Sheriff of the Year

Deputy Sheriff Yener Tugrul

Medal of Valor: This medal is the second highest award presented by the Sheriff's Office. It shall be awarded under extraordinary circumstances. A member who displays bravery or heroism above and beyond the call of duty. This conduct shall occur in life-saving, life-protecting situations for the members placed at risk. The act must demonstrate professional judgment which does not jeopardize the mission. The Medal of Valor recognizes heroic conduct, but to a lesser degree than the Medal of Honor.

Captain Randy Wildman Deputy Sheriff Amy Harvill
Deputy Sheriff Bruce Nason

Meritorious Service Medal: The Meritorious Service Medal is awarded for individual service to the Sheriff's Office. It shall be awarded to members who demonstrate exceptional performance of duty.  Recipients will have distinguished themselves by performing exceptional service in a duty of great responsibility of critical importance to the Sheriff's Office. This is measured by contributing materially to the success of field or administrative operational goals.

Guidelines for nominations are: Substantial cost saving, increased efficiency, increased effectiveness, enhanced public image, improved safety of members, or technical innovation. Long and faithful service shall not be considered for the Meritorious Service Medal.

Sergeant Kevin McGraw Senior Drill Instructor James George
Senior Drill Instructor Randy McGuirt Senior Drill Instructor Lawrence Washington
Erica Allen Rachel Barefoot, Medical
Detention Deputy Karen Hall Barbara Mariani, Quality Assurance Analyst
Sergeant Dan Cooley Detective Vickie Callahan
Detective Sandra Scherer Kim Jones, PROCAP Project Coordinator/Trainer
Brad Copley, State Attorney's Office  

Purple Heart Medal: This medal is awarded to members seriously injured in the line-of-duty. A member who receives serious injuries incurred during the course of criminal apprehension or lifesaving efforts. Serious injury is defined as that which results in great bodily harm, or is life-threatening, or causes permanent disfigurement or disability; including those which result in paralysis. (Accidental injuries shall not be considered.)

Deputy Sheriff Raymond Brown

Detention Deputy Robert Scott

Fred Daniell

Marshall Anderson Award: Sheriff’s Office members who distinguish themselves by overcoming extreme adversity in their daily lives shall be awarded the Marshall Anderson Award. The Marshall Anderson Award shall be signed by the Sheriff. It shall be prepared on designated stationery and shall reflect a come adversity. A member who distinguishes themselves by their undaunted determination to overcome personal adversities and strive for proficiency and excellence in their daily lives and in the performance of their job duties.

Detective Charlie Gates

Glenford Barnes, Detention Support Specialist


Former Purple Heart Recipients
Members of the Sheriff's Office who have received the Purple Heart.

Awards 2003, 2004