Please Note: We now have the capability of taking electronic fingerprints for Concealed Weapon or Firearms License. Interested individuals should contact the Front Desk (863-298-6242) to schedule an appointment. The cost of the electronic fingerprinting is $31.50 plus:
- $5.00 in county fee
- $25.00 out of county fee
and must be paid by cash or check only. You must schedule an appointment.
1. FIREARMS LAWS - CHAPTER 790, FLORIDA STATUTES
You are required by law to read and become knowledgeable of Chapter 790, Florida Statutes, relating to weapons and firearms, prior to submitting your application for a concealed weapon or firearm license. A copy of Chapter 790, Florida Statutes, is included with the application material for you to retain.
Initial Application: Fees totaling $112.00 must be submitted with your application. These fees consist of a $70.00 license fee and a $42.00 fingerprint card processing fee.
Consular Security Official application: A $300.00 license fee must be submitted with your application. Florida Law Enforcement Officers, Correctional Officers, or Correctional Probation Officers (active or retired).
Fees must be paid with a check or money order, made payable to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Please do not send cash, the department will assume no liability for cash sent through the mail. THESE FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE and NONTRANSFERABLE.
3. TRAINING DOCUMENTATION
Any one of the following are examples of the documents which will be accepted to satisfy the training requirement:
- A notarized statement or document from a club, organization, school training facility or certified instructor showing that the individual has completed a course or class or is an experienced competitor.
- A photocopy of your military honorable discharge document or a photocopy of your DD-214.
- A photocopy of a certificate bearing the name of the organization, school or facility who sponsored the course or class and the instructor's name and category of certification (NRA, State, etc.). The instructor's name and certification must be clearly legible.
- A photocopy of your NRA competitors classification card or similar documentation.
- A photocopy of a firearms instructors certification card or certificate.
- A photocopy of any NRA firearms training certificate.
- A photocopy of a certificate or card showing completion of a hunter education or safety course approved by the Florida Game and Fresh Water Fish Commission or a similar agency of another state.
- A photocopy of a license to carry a concealed weapon or firearm issued in Florida.
Photocopies of documentation MUST clearly show the individual's name and all signatures, etc. Dark or light copies which do not clearly show pertinent information cannot be accepted. DO NOT SEND ORIGINALS - THEY CANNOT BE RETURNED.
4. FINGERPRINT CARD INSTRUCTIONS
See Fingerprint Card instructions inside application package for specific information.
5. PHOTOGRAPH INSTRUCTIONS
You must also submit a passport-type color photograph. Refer to photograp instructions included inside the application package for for details concerning the appearance of the photograph.
6. COMPLETION OF YOUR APPLICATION
Inquiries which are necessary to facilitate completion of your application should be directed to a service representative at:
C.W. Service Representative
Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Serivcies
Division of Licensing
P.O. Box 6687
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6687
Telephone 850 245-5691
Once you have completed your application form, have it notarized.
Use the envelope provided to return your application, fingerprint card, fees and all appropriate documents. Your application cannot be processed unless ALL required items have been included.
Allow ninety (90) days for processing your complete application. The ninety (90) day processing time will be suspended if the department must obtain disposition(s) of criminal records. Incomplete applications cannot be processed.
8. TERM OF LICENSE
A license to carry a concealed weapon or firearm is valid throughout the STATE OF FLORIDA for a period of seven years unless otherwise stated, suspended or revoked for cause. Consular security officials, see back of application.
You are NOT eligible for a license to carry a concealed weapon or firearm if:
a. You are not 21 years of age or older;
b. You are not a resident of the United States;
c. You have been convicted of a felony in any state, and your civil rights, including the specific authority to own, possess or use a firearm, have not been restored; THE RIGHT TO BEAR ARMS MUST BE RESTORED BY THE STATE OF FLORIDA, OFFICE OF EXECUTIVE CLEMENCY. For information on obtaining restoration of civil rights or the right to bear arms, please contact the Office of Executive Clemency, 1309 Winewood Blvd. Bldg. 6, Room 323, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2450, telephone number (850) 488-2952;
d. You have had adjudication of guilt withheld or imposition of sentence suspended on any felony unless 3 years have elapsed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled or expunction has occurred;
e. You have been found guilty of one or more crimes of violence and three years have not elapsed since probation or other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled or expunction has occurred;
f. You suffer from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a weapon or firearm;
g. You have been committed for the abuse of a controlled substance or been found guilty of a crime under the provisions of Chapter 893, Florida Statutes, relating to drugs and controlled substances, or similar laws of any other state relating to controlled substances, within a 3 year period immediately preceding the date of this application;
h. You are a chronic and habitual user of alcoholic beverages or other substances to the extent that your normal faculties are impaired. It shall be presumed that you chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages or other substances to the extent that your normal faculties are impaired if you have been committed under the provisions of Chapter 397 or former Chapter 396, Florida Statutes, or convicted under Section 790.151, Florida Statutes, or have been deemed a habitual offender under Section 856.011(3), Florida Statutes, relating to intoxication, or have had 2 or more convictions under Section 316.193, Florida Statutes, relating to driving under the influence of alcohol or driving under the influence of a chemical or controlled substance, or similar laws of any other state, within a 3 year period immediately preceding the date of this application;
i. You have been adjudicated an incompetent under Section 744.331, Florida Statutes, or similar laws of any other state, or have not waited 5 years from the date competency was restored by court order;
j. You have been committed to a mental institution under Chapter 394, Florida Statutes, or similar laws of any other state, and you do not possess a certificate from a licensed psychiatrist certifying that you have not suffered from disability for a period of 5 years prior to the date of submission of this application;
k. You cannot provide proof of firearms proficiency; or You desire a means for carrying a concealed weapon or firearm for purposes other than lawful self-defense.
More information can be found by visiting the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services/Concealed Weapons/Firearms site.