Date: May 23, 2003 "For Immediate Release"
To: News Media
From: Sheriff Lawrence W. Crow, Jr.
Media Contact:

Michal Shanley, 863 534-6631 or 819-0397 pager

PCSO Members Recognized During Annual Awards Ceremony

Numerous Polk County Sheriff's Office members were recognized for their outstanding achievements during the Sheriff's Office Annual Awards Ceremony held yesterday, Thursday, May  22, 2003.

Among many other recognitions, the following significant awards were presented:

  • Meritorious Service Medal - Kathy Edwards, Major Dale Tray
  • Marshall Anderson Award - D/S/S Eugene Speener, D/DJeffrey Spurlock
  • Purple Heart - Sgt. Larry Traylor
  • Medal of Valor - Lt. Michael Schoch, D/S Russell Hilson, D/D John Hall
  • Medal of Honor - Lt. Richard Holland, D/S Craig Powers, D/S Shawn Stephenson, D/S Johnnie Thomas

Polk County Sheriff's Office "Members of the Year" also were announced:

  • Civilian of the Year - Steve Howard
  • Detention Deputy of the Year - Nick Harville
  • Deputy Sheriff of the Year - John Conover
Distribution: Undersheriff, Division Commanders, Communications, News Media

A text only version of this release is also available.

Star News Releases
News Room
Polk County Sheriff’s Office Home Page